When I was a little girl growing up in Eugene, Oregon, I remember getting scared at night in bed.  Imagining monsters under my bed (I used to jump out of bed so the monsters wouldn’t be able to grab my ankles and drag me under), fearing the dark and the like.  I also knew these fears were totally irrational, so I had a little phrase that I would repeat to myself over and over to make myself feel better: lollipops and unicorns, lollipops and unicorns, lollipops and unicorns.  I have NO idea why I chose lollipops and unicorns.  As far as I know, I never had a special fondness for either.  The unicorn is especially puzzling to me now, but I have to admit, this combo worked pretty well!  In fact, I still use this phrase to cheer up.  

Feel free to borrow it the next time you’re feeling down.

