One of August’s favorite books (on a bookshelf in England) is Dear Zoo.  Since it was a beautiful day, I figured it was high time to take him to his first zoo.  We invited my old friend Emily, who’s nannying for two kids near my parents’ house.   The youngest, Mikey, has the EXACT same birthday as August!

Watching sea lions swim by the underwater observation room.

While we were watching the gorilla collect some branches, he dragged them over and plopped down right in front of us.  The kids went bananas.  August nonchalantly nibbled on his cookie.

Always the thief, little August hijacked Mikey’s stroller (after resisting HIS stroller five times!).  

Still in Mikey’s stroller, we visited the lions.  Have you heard August’s “roar.”  One of his other favorite books (on a bookshelf in England) is Rory and the Lion.

The rhinos were nowhere to be found.  Luckily there was a little play area.  In and out.  In and out.

When it was time to go, I did that age-old mom-ism when August didn’t come to me.  “OK August.  I’ll see you later.”  He casually turned around and waved goodbye, “See ya later, Mama!”  This kid kills me.  In a good way.

It was a lovely day at the zoo.  We’ll check out some more in the near future methinks.

