We’re moving to New York City!  August and I will be two of the eight million people living in the Big Apple starting soon.  

Before I get to my rationale for this huge endeavor, I’ll share the details.  I found an affordable 1 bedroom flat sublet in the East Village and had my dear friend, Kate, scope it out for me.  She’s probably the most responsible, mature, no bullshit girl I know, so I totally trusted her when she gave it a thumb’s up.  There’s a grocery store and laundromat on the block, a great park around the corner, subway stop a few blocks away, and more.  The sublet starts now and lasts through March.  At that point, I have a long term plan, which I’ll discuss later if need be.

New York City and I have had a love/hate relationship.  When I was a senior in college, I wanted nothing more than to move to NYC for grad school.  Unfortunately, September 11th happened, and I lived five blocks from the World Trade Center.  Plus, my education program at NYU did not suit me, so I abandoned my life in the city.  It wasn’t the right time for me to live there.  

Over the past couple years, Eric has been saying that he’d love to live in Manhattan or Brooklyn when he’s done with school.  After getting over my stubborn, irrational opposition to the idea, I realized that I just had two concerns.  One is personal between Eric and me, but the other was just the financial cost of living there.  I didn’t like the idea of living in 500 square feet after having had a house and even a decent-sized college flat in Cambridge.  But I know now that we could make it work.  

After having spent six weeks living with my generous family, I feel ready to face the world alone with August.  I know it will be an adjustment.  I know it will be hard.  But I know it’s something I need to do.  I’ve been thinking very seriously about where to move over the past couple weeks.  I knew I wanted my own space.  Friends and family have generously offered for me to stay with them indefinitely, but I’m afraid it would allow me to wallow in my sorrows too much.  I thought about going to the Cape because it’d be a free place to stay.  But I don’t have any support right there.  I know I could do it, but it wouldn’t be very fun.  So then I started thinking about where I would have the most fun.  I need some fun.  Fun means friends.  Ironically, New York City has the highest concentration of my friends.  Just out of curiosity, I checked prices of sublets on Craigslist and found some that were surprisingly affordable (by city standards at least).  I know that spending a couple thousand dollars isn’t the wisest investment move right now since I am unemployed and don’t know what the future holds for my personal life.  But I’m going to cut myself some slack and indulge for two months.  Two months of fun during what is otherwise the absolute worst experience of my life.

The city will be a GREAT distraction for me.  And that’s what I need right now.  I’m VERY excited about this plan.  Are you?

(The poster at the top is from the film, New York, I Love You , which followed the same multi-director, combination of short films format of Paris, Je’taime).  Here’s the trailer:)

