This is me on my 30th birthday with my dear friends, Sarah and Kate.

I *really* wish I had created a list of 30 things to do before turning 30 like this from Making it Lovely or this from Oh Happy Day! (two of my fav blogs by the way).  I’m not going to give myself too hard a time about it because I did some pretty major things the year I turned thirty such as moving abroad, living on a grad student budget for three people, traveling around Europe and raising a happy, healthy baby.  Regardless, I love setting goals and making lists, so my list will be titled “35 Things in 2010.”

My friends have mostly all turned thirty, and we’ve talked extensively about how THIS is OUR decade.  We’re going to be the movers and shakers, and as thirtysomethings, we finally have enough cred to make it happen.  Just you wait…

Anyway, without further ado, here are my 35 things in 2010:

1. Change my look. Done!

2. Do manicures (at home) once a month.  That means polish, too!

3. Go on or at least plan (more likely this year…let’s be real) a big trip.  Possibilities: Morocco, Egypt, Tunisia, Buenos Aires, Istanbul/Turkish Coast (this one has been at the top of my travel list since I was 20).

4. Get a job to pay for big trip.  I miss working.

5. Visit all five boroughs of New York City with a local.

6. Make five new good friends.

7. Get that Blurb book about teaching made already!

8. Do another portrait session with August.

9. Throw four parties.  Bonus if costumes are involved.

10. Chat up strangers more.

11. Sell or donate all the extra or unused stuff in my life.

12. Listen to NPR on my computer while I’m getting things done at home during August’s naps.

13. Take an artsy class: photography, bookbinding, screenprinting, flower arranging, calligraphy.

14. Volunteer.

15. Do something entrepreneurial. Bonus if it makes me extra cash.

16. Host regular (monthly?) movie nights.  Bonus if they are outside.

17. Wear a dress or skirt at least once a week.  Even if the highs for the week never go above freezing.

18. Visit MOMA.

19. Road trip.  I’m thinking Montreal to visit this little lady and her new brother, Alexandre!

20. Put together photo albums.

21. Make a budget, and stick to it.

22. Get loans and computer sorted.

23. Visit the best, I mean, West coast.

24. Get into at least ten new (to me) indie bands.

25. Organize my notebook system.

26. Get magazine subscriptions instead of paying for them individually.

27. Have tea every afternoon when it’s cold outside.  With sugar and milk like a good Brit.

28. Make zuccoto from scratch.

29. See American Idiot on Broadway.

30. Get Photoshop back on my computer, and learn how to use it (take a class?).

31. Find my signature scent.  Never reveal it to anyone.

32. Perfect my Scottish and Irish accents.  I’ve got the British accent down pat.

33. Make a short film.

34. See an opera.  Get super dressed up.  Something vintage.

35. Make an air band video.  I mean, I just LOVE this:

