Sorry for being MIA.  Trying to get settled.  Take a look at my living room so far.

I think I’ve decided NOT to paint.  The ceilings are wicked high, and I think the white opens it up.  Of course, there needs to be loads of pictures on the walls.  It’s a-comin’…don’t worry.

But there’s lots of other stuff to figure out.  For instance, I’m thinking of getting rid of (storing or selling?) the large square bookcase. I don’t really need the storage, it’s taking up valuable living room space and August thinks it’s his personal jungle gym.

My favorite thing by far is the vintage credenza on which my TV is perched.  I knew that I wanted a long, low dresser as my TV headquarters.  After missing the perfect one for FREE on Craigslist, I thought I’d have to fork over $400, which seemed to be the going rate on Craigslist.  But since my budget for furnishing this new place is about $400 TOTAL, I knew I’d have to stalk Craigslist or look beyond NYC.  So when we went up to Providence to retrieve our essentials, I stopped by my fav thrift shops.  And that’s where I found it.  For $50.  Sold.  It was a beast to lift, even with all the drawers removed.  Solid piece–guess they just don’t make ’em like they used to.  I LOVE it.  I just need to replace the handles.

Otherwise, all I need is a rug, coffee table and some pillows.  These are my thoughts in those departments:

RUGS

I’m either going with a bold, ethnic rug like these kilims:

Each rug is $95 from Rugland

Or something more neutral:

$80 from Overstock

$67 from Overstock

COFFEE TABLES

$40 from Target.  Two of ’em.  Storage and extra seating.

On sale from Target for $112.  I don’t think it’s quite right for my place, so maybe one of you should go for it.  Because it’s really pretty (I’ve tried to convince Liz to splurge on the matching nightstands for her bedroom new-do…I’ll do another round of badgering this weekend!)

The spendiest option is $250 from CB2, which means it’s impossible.  But I like that it’s clear and rounded–practically invisible and toddler friendly!

PILLOWS

I’m thinking orangey-coral and teal.  SO not my usz.  But I kinda love it.  The idea of it at least.  All of these options are from Crate and Barrel, CB2 or Target, and they are all less than $40.  But I’m thinking I can score some cheaper versions at Homegoods or just find some fabric and make ’em myself!


Plus this one from eBay and this one from Urban Outfitters and this floor cushion (two of ’em)–I couldn’t figure out how to save the pictures off eBay and UO websites.

So.  Once I make some decisions, I’ll be sure to show the results.  Until then, more settling…

