My son is TWO!  Can you believe it?  One year ago, we were celebrating his one year of existence, and two years ago we were first introduced to August Miles.  Whoa.

We had a small celebration in the courtyard of my new building with a small group of family and friends.  Since red is August’s favorite color (He told me.  I know.), I used some of the same balloons he had at his first birthday party.  I covered the table with black and white stripe fabric from Ikea since the downtown, hipster types love a black and white striped outfit (I’m going to turn the fabric into some pillows for my living room soon!).  Then I threw in a little chartreuse in there with the drinking straws, Granny Smith apples holding the balloons down (apples…you know…to go with the Big Apple theme) and lemonade, ’cause you know I love that red/chartreuse color combo.

It wasn’t long before August discovered the pretzels.  Rather, the salt ON the pretzels.  I made two dips to accompany this classic NYC snack: mustard pretzel dip and beer cheese pretzel dip.

Red velvet cupcakes that my mom made the night before–thanks, Mom!!!

August LOVED the sparkling lemonade.

August wasn’t a happy camper in this photo.  The Koskinens were doing all sorts of silly moves to make him happy.  Their tactics were more successful for my mom and dad apparently.  😉

My gorgeous sisters-in-law.

Beth, my bridesmaid, lives in NYC.  This was her first visit to my new place, so I’m pointing out where my flat is from the courtyard.  I really like this shot (thanks for capturing it, Poptart!).

Presents!  August actually helped unwrap gifts this year.

He LOVED the play kitchen from Nana and Grandpa.  L-O-V-E-D it.

He also loved the cupcakes.  Correction: he loved the icing on the cupcakes.

Aunt Liz gave him a photography lesson.

We practiced saying, “I’m two!” all week.  He did it a lot for me when we were alone.  Only a couple times for an audience.  “August, how old are you?”

