I find myself in a constant state of self-reflection.  Which can be a good and bad thing.  I’m hoping to focus on the good kind of reflection as much as I can for as long as I can.  So.  I thought I’d see how I’ve been doing on my 35 things in 2010 list I created at the beginning of March.  Nearly four months later, here’s my progress report (I added updates on works in progress in italics):

1. Change my look. Still lovin’ my fringe.

2. Do manicures (at home) once a month.  That means polish, too!  I’m 6/6 months so far!

3. Go on or at least plan (more likely this year…let’s be real) a big trip.  Possibilities: Morocco, Egypt, Tunisia, Buenos Aires, Istanbul/Turkish Coast (this one has been at the top of my travel list since I was 20).  Since my budget will be MUCH different than I thought it would be at this point (sniff), I’m rethinking my destination and travel partner(s).  I’ve got a few ideas.

4. Get a job to pay for big trip.  I miss working.

5. Visit all five boroughs of New York City with a local.

6. Make five new good friends.

7. Get that Blurb book about teaching made already!

8. Do another portrait session with August. Thanks, Jacob!!!!  I LOVE your photos!

9. Throw four parties.  Bonus if costumes are involved.  One party down: August’s birthday.

10. Chat up strangers more.

11. Sell or donate all the extra or unused stuff in my life. Boy did I accomplish this in Cambridge two weeks ago.  My donations possibly weighed a ton.  Seriously.

12. Listen to NPR on my computer while I’m getting things done at home during August’s naps.  Um, I’ve been listening to my fav radio stations, WKNC and Viva Radio.

13. Take an artsy class: photography, bookbinding, screenprinting, flower arranging, calligraphy.  Liz and I are planning on doing this at the 14th Street Y.  I’d also love to do one of the classes at Make.  Letterpressed business cards…maybe saying they’re calling cards would be more my (and Zooey’s style).

14. Volunteer.

15. Do something entrepreneurial. Bonus if it makes me extra cash.

16. Host regular (monthly?) movie nights.  Bonus if they are outside.

17. Wear a dress or skirt at least once a week.  Even if the highs for the week never go above freezing.  I’m totally succeeding at this.

18. Visit MOMA.

19. Road trip.  I’m thinking Montreal to visit this little lady and her new brother, Alexandre!  August and I did a road trip to Providence over Memorial Day Weekend.  But it doesn’t count.  Not nearly ambitious enough.

20. Put together photo albums.  I’ve done an album for each year of August’s life.  I think I’ll do one for my marriage.  And I’ll get an empty one for the future.

21. Make a budget, and stick to it.  This one is going to be a bit tricky now.

22. Get loans and computer sorted.  This one is going to be a bit tricky now.

23. Visit the best, I mean, West coast.  I really, really want to do this.  This summer?

24. Get into at least ten new (to me) indie bands.  Working on it.  NC bands Megafaun and Birds and Arrows top my list right now.

25. Organize my notebook system.

26. Get magazine subscriptions instead of paying for them individually.

27. Have tea every afternoon when it’s cold outside.  With sugar and milk like a good Brit.

28. Make zuccoto from scratch.

29. See American Idiot on Broadway.

30. Get Photoshop back on my computer, and learn how to use it (take a class?).  I discovered Pages on my Mac.  I’ve been watching tutorial videos on apple.com.

31. Find my signature scent.  Never reveal it to anyone.

32. Perfect my Scottish and Irish accents.  I’ve got the British accent down pat.

33. Make a short film.

34. See an opera.  Get super dressed up.  Something vintage. This one.  Totally.  Or this one.

35. Make an air band video.  Still trying to figure out what song to do.  Suggestions?


{That’s me doing a handstand in Cornwall, England a couple weeks ago.  #36: I’d like to have more joyful photos in my portfolio.}

