One year ago today, the man I loved asked me to leave.

When I think about the past year, I’m amazed at how I survived the roller coaster ride.  I felt the floor drop out from under me several times, but also reached some extreme highs as well.  But that’s not a way that I wanted to live, which is why I realized that it was time to say goodbye in June when I went to Cambridge for the last time.  Without getting into too many specifics, I thought I’d track my emotions over the past year through songs.  Because I’m artsy like that.  For the record, I’m imagining each of these songs sung from MY point of view.

John Legend “Ordinary People”

Amy Winehouse “Wake Up Alone”

Temper Trap “Soldier On”

The Avett Brothers “I And Love And You”

John Legend “Used to Love U”

Justin Timberlake “Cry Me a River”

My journey isn’t over.  In general, I feel really, really great about where I’m at emotionally.  I really hope that, someday, I won’t feel so much anger about the things that have been said and done to me this year.  I look forward to that day.

